Electronic and Electro-Acoustic Compositions



for bass clarinet and electronics

[Syzygy – the nearly straight-line configuration of three celestial bodies (as the sun, moon, and earth during a solar or lunar eclipse) in a gravitational system]

Written for clarinetist Alexander W. Ravitz

Syzygy is performed with MAX/MSP.


december – I. cold

december is a collection of audio and video patches that were combined into a master patch in MAX/MSP. The patch was created in the fall of 2016 and is available for download on media page of this website. Part 1 of december uses extended technique on the tuba, phase distortion, and sample playback at various speeds and direction.  


december – II. chamber

Part 2 of december uses one pitch, a sample of a tuba mouthpiece being struck with a metal beater, and pink noise. These sound sources are played through various filters, detuned, and run through a series of effects chains.   


december – III. post

Part 3 of december is the longest section and combines the effects from the first two sections. This section also uses more audio and video interaction. 


This is My Tuba

This piece was composed in the spring of 2014.  The piece was selected to be performed at the National Conference on Undergraduate Research held in Lexington, KY in March of 2014.



Susurrus is an electro-acoustic work that was premiered by Chirstopher Jones on 12-3-2014 at the University of South Florida.


Susurrus is performed using PureData and incoprorates acoustic tuba playing, extended techniques, and electronic accompaniment to create a unique soundscape.


Susurrus- whispering, murmuring, or rustling.


U92 was composed for and played in USF's Centre Gallery for the Common Reading Experience's Creative Showcase in the spring of 2015.


The piece was composed using a PureData patch and various sound sources. The title refers to Uranium and it's element number. The piece uses information about Uranium such as it's boiling point, melting point, and more, to create both pitch material and structure. It also contains sound files taken from speeches pertaining to nuclear matters.

Election Recap

ElectionRecap is an electronic composition that is made up entirely of an WPR (Wisconsin Public Radio) podcast commentating on the results the 09-05-2014 election day results.  The piece was composed using Adobe Audition.


The piece was selected for Wave Farm's 60x60 call for radio art and was aired on March 7th on WGXC 90.7-FM. 

© 2019

Brett Copeland Music

All Rights Reserved.


  • Wix Facebook page
  • YouTube Classic
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Classic
  • SoundCloud App Icon